Poetry

They Would Never Tell Us This Anymore

They Never Tell Us This Anymore

My parents would have told you that I’m loving and kind

And when I smiled, they would tell you I have the most beautiful eyes.

 My parents used to tell me that they loved me to the core

But after just one mistake, they would never tell us this anymore.

Now, they would tell you with regret and disdain

That if something goes wrong, that it’s me you should blame

I’m no longer the “good kid” they would hold in their arm

If only there was some kind of way, that I could restore the harm.

My teachers would have told you that I had a brilliant mind

And that I easily completed anything they assigned.

My teachers used to tell me that I could be a mentor

But after just one mistake, they would never tell us this anymore.

Now they would tell you about the few classes I missed

And how I disliked English, and would sometimes resist.

They would discuss the time, that I pulled the fire alarm

If only there was some kind of way, that I could restore the harm.

My coaches would have told you that I always worked hard

And how the other teams viewed me with the highest regard.

My coaches used to tell me that my talents could soar

But after just one mistake, they would never tell us this anymore.

Now they would tell you, about all the bad shots that I took

And how I never passed the ball, because I’m a crook.

They would talk about the times, I left to go work on our farm

If only there was some kind of way, that I could restore the harm.

My friends would have told you that I was funny and cool

And how I always had their backs, it was the number one rule.

My friends used to tell me, about how we loved to explore

  But after just one mistake, they would never tell us this anymore.

Now they would tell you, that they were never my friend

And how they never laughed at my jokes, they would only pretend.

They now tell me they never revered my wit and my charm

If only there was some kind of way, that I could restore the harm.

Before I would tell you, about all of my hopes and dreams

And how I aspired to play sports, on the professional teams.

When all of you were by my side, bullying was easy to ignore

But after just one mistake, I would never tell us this anymore.

Now I would tell you about all the sleepless nights

When I lay awake wondering if I do anything right.

At the worst of these times, I must force myself to unarm

If only there was some kind of way, that I could restore the harm.

This new world I was thrust into, is filled with loneliness and despair

And I fear that I’m beginning to become, what the others declare.

I’m constantly planning, when It’s the appropriate time to rearm

If only there was some kind of way, that I could restore the harm.

I keep hoping every morning, when I get out of bed

Even just one person, would repeat a nice thing they once said.

I hope to be awaken from this dream, and talked out of this war

But after just one mistake, they would never tell me this anymore.

Leave a Reply

